Randy Bangert

Do you know a standout person or newspaper in Colorado? Click here for more information on how to nominate.

The Colorado Press Association is accepting nominations for its annual Member Awards and Innovation Awards. The deadline for nominations is Friday, Feb. 17. Winners will be announced at the CPA annual convention in April at the Denver West Sheraton.

Member Awards include:

  • Newspaper Person of the Year
  • Service to the First
  • Friend of the First
  • Rising Star
  • Innovation Award

Newspaper Person of the Year

Newspaper Person of the Year is a prestigious award given to a Colorado newspaper professional whose commitment to and leadership within the industry help to shape, support and contribute in a meaningful way to the long-term success of the industry.

Service to the First Award

The Service to the First award is intended to honor a newspaper's service to the First Amendment guarantee of a free press, including, but not limited to, fighting the threat of censorship in America, overcoming uneasiness with regard to press credibility, combating government secrecy at all levels, and instilling in the public an appreciation of its need as well as its right to know.

Friend of the First Award

The Friend of the First award recognizes a person in your community, or in the State of Colorado, who is a passionate advocate of First Amendment rights, freedom of the press, and open government.

The Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award is intended to recognize, celebrate and encourage the next generation of leadership in our industry and in the State of Colorado. Candidates will be recognized for their commitment to the newspaper, passion for the industry and contribution to the future success of the industry. This award should recognize an individual who is curious, innovative, progressive and stands out as a future leader.

Newspaper Innovation Award

This award will be given to a news organization that has significantly improved its business model in one or multiple areas to reflect changes in audience, revenue streams, content dissemination and other applicable areas of change within the industry. The winning news organization will demonstrate the ability to create, foster and promote innovation, sideways thinking, cultural transformation, originality, measurable impact, a spirit of experimentation and the willingness to risk failure to achieve greatness. It can reflect editorial, revenue, readership or other forms of achievement.

Editor's Note: The innovation awards have been lumped into one Innovation Award due to lack of participation in the past. 

Contact Jerry Raehal at jraehal@colopress.net or at 720-274-7171 with questions.