The Newspaper Person of the Year is a prestigious award given to a Colorado newspaper professional whose commitment to and leadership within the industry help to shape, support and contribute in a meaningful way to the long-term success of the industry.

From 1967 to 1983 the award was called Newspaper Publisher of the Year.

Previous winners 

1967 Ed Lehman, Longmont Times-Call

1968 Frank Hoag Jr., Pueblo Chieftain

1969 Fred Betz Sr., Lamar Daily News

1970 Glen Edmonds, Pagosa Springs Sun

1971 Clyde E. Moffitt, Fort Collins Coloradoan

1972 Charles Stoddard Jr., Craig Empire-Courier

1973 R. W. Spencer, Fort Morgan Times

1974 Dean Hammond, Del Norte Prospector

1975 Ken Johnson, Grand Junction Daily Sentinel

1976 Bob Sweeney, Craig Northwest Colorado Daily Press

1977 William Dunaway, Aspen Times

1978 Dewey Brown, Montezuma Valley Journal

1979 Ross and Anne Thompson,  Rocky Ford Daily Gazette

1980 John R. Hudler, Burlington Record

1981 Rev. C. B. Woodrich, Denver Catholic Register

1982 Lee Guittar, The Denver Post

1983 Blair Macy, Windsor Beacon (weekly paper) &  William Fletcher, Rocky Mountain News (daily paper)

1984 Charles Clark

Las Animas Bent County Democrat

1985 Laurie Paddock, Boulder Daily Camera

1986 Fred Betz Jr., Lamar Daily News

1987 James Adkins, Douglas County News-Press

1988 Ralph Looney, Rocky Mountain News

1989 Robert Rawlings, Pueblo Chieftain

1990 Wilbur Flachman, Westminster Window

1991 Steve Haynes, Monte Vista Journal

1992 Percy Conarroe, Louisville Times

1993 Jack Bacon, Aurora Sentinel

1994 Monty Gaddy, Simla Ranchland News

1995 Julie Tonsing, Sterling Journal-Advocate

1996 Ruth Lehman, Longmont Times-Call

1997 Richard Ballantine, The Durango Herald

1998 Barrie Hartman, Boulder Daily Camera

1999 Bill Spencer, The Fort Morgan Times

2000 Bob Rummel, Loveland Reporter-Herald

2001 Fred Brown, The Denver Post

2002 Bob Brown, Colorado Mountain News Media

2003 Dean Singleton, The Denver Post

2004 Rol Hudler, The Burlington Record

2005 Jean Gray, Haxtun-Fleming Herald

2006 Suzanne Schlicht, Steamboat Pilot & Today

2007 Dale L. Carr, Longmont Times-Call, & Frank Dixon, The Denver Post

2008 Dennis Herzog, The Grand Junction Daily Sentinel

2009 Merle Baranczyk, Arkansas Valley Publishing Co.

2010 Steve Henson, The Pueblo Chieftain

2011 Rick “Worm” Charbonneau, The Denver Post

2012 Scott Stanford, Steamboat Pilot & Today

2013 Robert “Bob” Silbernagel, The Grand Junction Daily Sentinel

2014 Jim Morgan, Colorado Mountain News Media

2015 Randy Bangert, Greeley Tribune