2017 Convention Awards photo

The 2016 Colorado Press Association Better Newspaper Contest results were announced April 22 at CPA's 139th Annual Convention at the Denver West Sheraton in Lakewood.

Judging for the awards was conducted by the Minnesota Press Association. Click here to see results.

The Newspaper Person of the Year was Brenda Brandt of the Holyoke Enterprise.

The Rising Star Award went to Jennifer Hefty of the Coloradoan.

Barbara Hardt of the Mountain-Ear won the Innovation Award, and Service to the First went to the Coloradoan.

Click here to see sweepstakes, general excellence and member awards.

"The contest is always a great time for us to reflect on the great work by our members, and this year was no exception," CPA CEO Jerry Raehal said. "Some of the work was not only outstanding but also community changing."