Latest news icon

Note from lobbyist Greg Romberg:

Following Tuesday's election where Republicans maintained their 18-17 majority in the Senate and Democrats retained their majority in the House and increased the margin from 34-31 to 37-29, legislators met Nov. 10 to elect leadership.

Senator Kevin Grantham from Canon City and Senator Chris Holbert from Parker will serve as President and Majority Leader of the Senate. Senator Lucia Guzman of Denver retains her post as Minority Leader.

Representative Crisanta Duran of Denver will move from being the House Majority Leader to Speaker. Representative KC Becker of Boulder will be the new Majority Leader. Representative Patrick Neville of Castle Rock will be the House Minority Leader.